Hand Printed Christmas Cards, Pt. 3

It was a very dreary, wintery day yesterday…the perfect day to leisurely wake up, get right into comfy, warm clothes, and work on some art projects while listening to Christmas music. My goal for the day was to print some more Christmas cards. I wanted to use the “Let it Snow” I drew last week and then make some snowflakes to go around the writing. I made a quick mock up of my idea in Photoshop. As you can see, I have the writing flipped because when I make the stamp, the writing needs to be reversed so that it prints the correct way.

LetitSnow

I took this print and placed it over my linoleum stamp, with transfer paper in between, and transferred the writing onto the stamp.

Stamp1

Once it was transferred, I started carving.

Stamp2

Next, I made my snowflake stamps.

SnowflakeStamp1 SnowflakeStamp2

And finally it was time to print! I started with the “Let it Snow” stamp in red.

LetitSnowCard1

Then, I added the snowflakes in white.

LetitSnowCard2 LetitSnowCard3

I could have stopped here, but I wanted to use the glitter glue I bought last week at Michaels, so I added that on top of the snowflakes to give them some sparkle (the glitter is kind of hard to see in the photo).

LetitSnowCard4

I printed 8 of these cards and I love how they turned out. I really like the way the white and red look on the brown card and I’m really glad I added glitter to the snowflakes.

I wanted to try one more design, so I went back to the Christmas light stamps I used for the gift tags. I loved the way the tags looked, so I decided to translate the same idea to a card. I used all the same colors and lined the lights along the bottom of the card.

LightsCard1

Then, I added a black line to connect the lights.

LightsCard3

They still didn’t seem quite complete, so I took the gold glitter glue and added small lines at the top of the lights.

LightsCard4 LightsCard5

This might be one of my favorite cards so far! I love the different colors and the touch of gold glitter.

It’s probably time I start mailing some of these cards out…Christmas is only two weeks away!

Stay Curiously Chic! xo…Alane

Leave a Reply

