Wheel Throwing Update, Pt. 2

Last night was our last wheel throwing class. I can’t believe how quickly the past 7 weeks have gone by! I’m a bit disappointed its over because I feel like I was just getting the hang of throwing. Oh well…

 

Last night, all of the things we made were out of the kiln and ready to be glazed, so we spent the whole 2.5 hours glazing our pieces. I have to be honest, I hate glazing. It was the most frustrating class we’ve had. You have to dip your piece into the glaze rather than paint it on. You may be thinking, “how hard is it to dip a bowl into liquid?” Well, let me tell you, it is not as easy as you think! There are a number of complications that can arise, such as drips, missing small areas, and the glaze being too thick on your piece so that it just cracks off (yes, this happened on two of my pieces, one of which I completely washed off and brought home unglazed).

 

Anyways, the pieces were fired last night so they will be ready to pick up this weekend. In the meantime, here are a few photos of the unglazed pieces:

 

my dad's pieces

my dad’s pieces

my pieces

my pieces

I finally made a mug!! and a cup

I finally made a mug!! and a cup

my best bowl

my best bowl

 

I will take pictures of the final pieces when we get them back. Until then…

 

Stay Curious! xo…Alane

6 thoughts on “Wheel Throwing Update, Pt. 2

  1. Pingback: Wheel Throwing Update – Finished Pieces Pt. 1 | A Curiously Chic Life

  2. Pingback: Wheel Throwing Update – Finished Pieces Pt. 2 | A Curiously Chic Life

Leave a Reply

