Upcoming Workshop & New Doodles

Sunday, I am taking a Screen Printing Intensive at 3rd Ward in Brooklyn. After dabbling in stamping and stenciling, I’m really excited to try this method of printmaking. I’m not sure what to expect, so I’m going in with an open mind. It may be difficult or easy; I may love it or hate it. Either way, its something I’ve wanted to try so I’m finally taking the time to do it!

I need to bring in a design for the class, but I still haven’t settled on one. They suggest staying away from anything with really fine lines. I also have to keep in mind that the design will be printed in one color, just like when I did the stamping, so I think I may want to start out with something simple. I have been doing a lot of doodling lately, so I thought I would share some of those sketches with you.

Feather

Available as an art print, stationary card, iPhone case, iPhone/iPad/Laptop skin on Society 6

Doodles

Page of doodles

Geometric

some geometric shapes with tribal influences

Camera

old camera

Dreamcatcher

Dreamcatcher

Octopus

octopus doodles

ElephantBalloon

a happy elephant

I’ve also been coming up with some ideas for more Christmas cards:

Bow

Christmas Bow

Ornaments

ornaments

Penguin

Christmas penguin

Reindeer

Reindeer I drew a few years ago…I thought he might be cute on a card

I also want to try stamping words on the front of a card:

LetitSnow

Before I make the stamp, however, I have to flip the writing so that it prints the correct way. If I made a stamp from the above image, it would print backwards on my card. So my stamp will look like this:

LetitSnow_Flipped

It’s getting down to the wire and I really need to decide what I am going to print on Sunday. Please feel free to leave any and all feedback/suggestions in the comments! I’m open to everyone’s opinion 🙂

I hope you all have a great weekend! Enjoy the Christmas spirit that’s in the air!!

Stay Curious! xo…Alane

One thought on “Upcoming Workshop & New Doodles

  1. Pingback: Hand Printed Christmas Cards, Pt. 3 | A Curiously Chic Life

Leave a Reply

