Turn Your Fridge into Art

This weekend while browsing on Pinterest, I found a DIY Photo Magnet Tutorial. I’ve been short on magnets for my fridge and when I saw this, I thought it would be a great way to add some of my own personal flare to a standard (unattractive) kitchen appliance. Now that they’re finished, they make my kitchen feel more homey and transform my fridge into a mini-gallery. I used some of my favorite instagrams, like shots of NYC and the beach, and added in photos of my friends, turning my fridge into a glimpse of my life and art. What’s great about this project is that there are so many possibilities for what you can use as images. You can stick to one theme, use words instead of photos, you could even make your own little illustrations. These magnets would make great homemade gifts too!

Here are some photos of the process and the finished magnets. They were really easy to make. The most time consuming part was cutting the foam board and letting the Modge Podge Dimensional Magic dry. I sealed them with the Modge Podge at night that way they could dry while I was asleep and I wouldn’t have to wait around. I really love the way they turned out!

20130320-213706.jpg20130320-213727.jpg20130320-213753.jpg20130320-213827.jpg

20130320-213852.jpg

20130320-213900.jpg

20130321-084139.jpg

20130321-084148.jpg

I hope everyone has had a great week and had a lovely first day of spring! It’s grey and cold here today…they’re calling for snow again. I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for sunshine and warm weather!

Stay curiously chic! xo…Alane

Leave a Reply

