I Found a Home!

In my recent post “2013: A Year of Ups,” I talked about all of the changes that are currently taking place in my life. I’m so excited to share my other bit of “big” news with you today!

If you read my post, then you know that I recently accepted a position at Random House in NY. Once I accepted, I figured I would be commuting from home for awhile because, let’s face it, the city is so expensive and I knew I wouldn’t be able to afford a one bedroom, or even a studio, on my own. I wanted to move out eventually because the commute is about 2 hours one way, but for now, I was settled on the idea of waiting a couple of months, that way I could save more money and maybe find a roommate to live with.

 

I should have known that things weren’t going to go as I had planned. Through a series of coincidental events, I was referred to a one bedroom apartment in Hoboken that is actually affordable! It is the cutest apartment and in a great area! So, as I’m sure you’ve now guessed, I signed the lease this past week and will be moving in March 1st!

 

About the apartment: It’s a one bedroom with an eat-in kitchen that opens up to a nice size living room. I love the layout because it’s long – you walk into the kitchen and move back through the living room into the bedroom. The setup creates a sense of privacy, which is something I feel like you don’t always get in a one bedroom. My absolute favorite part of the apartment though, is a little square room that connects the living room and bedroom. It has two sets of mirrored closets on one wall, which makes it a perfect dressing area. I am also picturing it as a little craft space. There is enough room for a desk, so I will have a place to work and will be able to create a storage space around it with wall shelves and drawers.

 

I can’t wait to post pictures once I get in there! Setting the place up is going to be a slow process, but that’s okay. I want to take my time and make it exactly how I want it. I want to add my own personal touch to it and try to do a lot of DIY projects for the space. So be prepared! In the coming months, you are going to be seeing a lot of posts about my new apartment, how I’m decorating it, projects I’m working on, and I will be asking all of you for advice on moving into a place and making it your own!

 

Happy Saturday!

CuriouslyChic_Signature

8 thoughts on “I Found a Home!

      1. Michelle

        No prob! 2013 is shaping up to be a good year for me as well 🙂 I can’t wait to hear more about your adventures! (Also, you’re reminding me I should stop being lazy and post more, haha!)

      2. acuriouslychiclife Post author

        I just read your post (and commented on it haha) and am so impressed with all you’ve done! I’m so glad we’re both having a great start to 2013! And a shoot in Hoboken will be so much fun! I’m looking forward to it and to catching up with you 🙂

      3. Michelle

        Yayyy, can’t wait! The next few weeks are a bit busy for me (but include a vacation to Florida, woo hoo!). But I’ll definitely be in touch! It’ll be awesome to create art with you and catch up. Can’t wait to hear about your new job and apartment 🙂

        I’m so glad that we’re both having a great start to the new year as well. And congrats again on landing the job at Random House! Very well deserved!

Leave a Reply

