Fighting the Winter Blues

Here we are, a month in to winter, and I’m already suffering from some major winter blues. Up until this past week, the winter has been pretty mild compared to winters past, so I probably shouldn’t be complaining. But these single digit temperatures just don’t seem to agree with me. I suffer from the horrible condition of being cold 90% of the time (yes, even when it’s 80 degrees in the summer) and so imagine how cold I am when the weather channel tells me its 7 degrees out. Imagine all of the layers I have to put on. I end up looking like Randy in A Christmas Story, waddling out of my house crying because “I can’t put my arms down!”

I wouldn’t call what I experience “seasonal depression” because my mood doesn’t necessarily change (although, if I’m being completely honest, it has been known to). More so than depression, I would say I experience an extreme bout of laziness when temperatures drop below 40 degrees. No matter how hard I try, I just can’t seem to get myself out of bed in the morning, which is odd because usually I’m a morning person. But in the winter my room is always so warm because my radiator lets out an unusual amount of heat and my bed is so soft and cozy, it’s literally impossible to move (okay it’s not completely impossible, I would just rather lay there all day). In the winter, especially when it gets as cold as it has been this week, all I want to do is cuddle up with a soft blanket, make a cup of tea or hot cocoa, and bury my nose in a good book (speaking of a good book, does anyone have any reading suggestions?)

But I suppose that’s all fantasy because, in reality, even though it’s just barely above 0 degrees and I think that the world should stop, it doesn’t. Life goes on, whether I want it to or not, and so, I have to pull myself out of bed, leave the cozy, warm comfort of my 80 degree room, bundle up in twenty layers like Randy, and move on with my day. So, since I can’t live out my dreams of knit socks, sweatpants, hot mugs and books, what do I do to fight the winter blues? Dream of all things sun, sand and summer, of course!

I couldn't have said it better myself! "Let's Go to the Beach" art print by The Dreamy Giraffe (Etsy)

I couldn’t have said it better myself!
“Let’s Go to the Beach” art print by The Dreamy Giraffe (Etsy)

Why yes, I'll take a Blood Orange Margarita!image via: http://camillestyles.com/drinks/bottoms-up-prettiest-summer-cocktails/?slide=2

Why yes, I’ll take a Blood Orange Margarita!
image via: http://camillestyles.com/drinks/bottoms-up-prettiest-summer-cocktails/?slide=2

Dreaming of the sun on my face(Photograph taken by me of my sister at the shore, March 2010. She's probably gonna kill me for this)

Dreaming of the sun on my face
(Photograph taken by me of my sister at the shore, March 2010. She’s probably gonna kill me for this)

Those chairs are calling my name.(Photograph taken by me in Anna Maria Island, FL. Available for sale in my Society6 shop)

Those chairs are calling my name.
(Photograph taken by me in Anna Maria Island, FL. Available for sale in my Society6 shop)

I'd give anything to be on the beach watching the sunset(Photograph taken by me in Anna Maria Island, FL. Available for sale in my Society6 shop)

I’d give anything to be on the beach watching the sunset
(Photograph taken by me in Anna Maria Island, FL. Available for sale in my Society6 shop)

If I keep dreaming of the sun and warm weather, then maybe, just maybe, I can make it through this winter alive. After all, spring is less than three months away!

P.S. I have to give a big BIRTHDAY SHOUT-OUT to my best friend!

Birthday

She turns 25 today! Can’t wait to celebrate your with you this weekend! I love you, girl!

CuriouslyChic_Signature

Featured image via: http://facesforradio.tumblr.com/page/2

5 thoughts on “Fighting the Winter Blues

  1. Pingback: Weekly Pinspiration | A Curiously Chic Life

Leave a Reply

