Weekend Recap: Sunday Cleaning & Screen-Printing

Sunday was quite dreary. It was foggy and damp, which meant that I really didn’t feel like going anywhere. I spent the majority of the day helping my mom clean out our basement – something we haven’t done in years, so you can imagine the amount of “stuff” that has collected. We’ve decided to tackle this daunting project because the basement would actually be a really great workspace for me. Right now, when I want to work on a project, I have to set myself up in my mom’s dining room, which, let’s face it, isn’t really fair to her or to me. Our basement, however, is perfect (if we can clean it out, that is). There are already tables, cabinets, and shelving units set up so that means there is plenty of storage space for all of my supplies. We have a large slop sink down there, which will make cleaning up much easier than it is using the kitchen or bathroom sink. The washer, dryer and ironing board are also all down there, so it will make sewing projects much more convenient because I won’t have to run up and down the stairs every time I need to press a seam (stairs are such a hardship, I know).

So on Sunday, we made pretty good headway. We boxed up papers to be burned, filled up a huge garbage bag with trash, reorganized one of our cabinets, and I was able to move three huge containers of art and craft supplies down to the basement and organize them the way I want. Here are a couple shots of “before”. I still need to take photos of the progress we made!

Making progress, but still have quite a ways to go.

Making progress, but still have quite a ways to go.

Still a lot to organize in the office are, but we'll get there!

Still a lot to organize in the office are, but we’ll get there!

By 5:30 pm, we were pretty burned out, but with one of the long tables cleaned off, I couldn’t resist the urge to do some screen printing! So I set myself up in my partial workspace and printed some t-shirts and totes with the elephant screen I made in my screen printing workshop.

Long table perfect for printing

Long table perfect for printing

Set up a side table for myself where I could keep my fabrics neatly stacked and easily be able to grab one after another

Set up a side table for myself where I could keep my fabrics neatly stacked and easily be able to grab one after another

Printing my elephant

Printing my elephant

I can now easily set up the drying rack without it being in anyone's way

I can now easily set up the drying rack without it being in anyone’s way

This was my first time printing tees and totes at home and, as expected, not everything came out perfectly. Two of my t-shirts shifted during the printing process, so I got some funky lines. Just like everything else, it’s a learning process. The tote looks great (I need to photograph it tonight) and I did get three shirts (out of six) that came out perfectly! I really love the way the elephant looks on the gray t-shirt! I couldn’t resist wearing him around yesterday.

Screen Printing5

If anyone has any suggestions on how to get organized and set up an efficient workspace, please let me know! I will keep you all updated with the progress we make!

And if you like my elephant design, you can now buy him as an art print, iPhone case, t-shirt, laptop/iPad skin, pillow, and hoodie on Society6!

CuriouslyChic_Signature

4 thoughts on “Weekend Recap: Sunday Cleaning & Screen-Printing

  1. Pingback: Playing with Text and Images | A Curiously Chic Life

  2. Pingback: Elephant Tote | A Curiously Chic Life

Leave a Reply

