Wheel Throwing Update – Finished Pieces Pt. 1

Last Tuesday was our last pottery class (you can read about it here) and this past weekend, we were able to pick up our finished, glazed pieces. As you may have gathered from my previous update, I was very nervous about how my pieces would turn out because I did not have a good night of glazing. I had drips, I missed little spots, and I even had to wash the glaze completely off of one bowl. However, when I came home and saw my pieces sitting on the counter, I was pleasantly surprised! There were a few that did not turn out the way I had envisioned (when does anything come out the way you imagine?), but overall I was pleased with the results! My dad’s pieces came out really great too, especially his really awesome lidded vase!

I’ve been so busy getting ready for Christmas that I haven’t had much time to photograph everything. I was really excited to show you the final products, however, so I have decided to post them in parts.

Here are a few shots of the vase my dad made. This is definitely one of my favorite pieces. I love the colors he chose! The cobalt blue is so rich and the white glaze has a really nice painterly effect. He should be very proud of the final product!

Vase

This is a small, wide bowl that I made. I used warm white glaze on the inside and olive green on the outside. I really like the way the glazes run together on the sides of the bowl, as you can see in the top right photo. I think this piece will make a good catch-all dish.

SmallBowl

And, finally, here is the cup I made. Originally it was going to be a mug, but then I kind of liked it without a handle. I used a really awesome glaze called Randy’s Red on the rim and inside of the cup and white on the outside. Again, I love the way the red runs into the white on the sides, which you can see in the two center photos.

Cup

Those are all the photos I have for today. Hopefully I can get some more posted this weekend – I have a mug and bowl I’m really excited about and my dad made the cutest tea cup for my mom!

Today is going to be filled with writing Christmas cards because I really need to get them in the mail! I hope everyone has a fantastic day!

Stay Curious! xo…Alane

3 thoughts on “Wheel Throwing Update – Finished Pieces Pt. 1

  1. Pingback: Wheel Throwing Update – Finished Pieces Pt. 2 | A Curiously Chic Life

Leave a Reply

