Hand Printed Christmas Cards

Hello everyone! I hope you all have had a nice little vacation and have recovered from the holiday’s many feasts! Today, I thought I would share some of my latest creations with you.

As you know, after my Surface Printing Workshop with Lotta Jansdotter, I went out and bought all of the supplies I needed to continue printing at home. One of the recent goals I set for myself is to hand print my own Christmas cards (and if I open an Etsy shop in time, to then sell them on Etsy!). So this past week, I have been a busy bee sketching ideas on paper and then carving the designs into rubber and linoleum blocks.

My first design consists of simple trees, all of which are different shapes and sizes. I knew I wanted to make a card using three colors – red, green and gold – so I thought something simple and geometric would work best. Here are some photos of the rubber stamps and the printing process:

Carving trees out of rubber blocks

Ready to stamp

Printing 4 cards at once – starting with the green trees

Second round of printing – red trees

Third round of printing – 2 types of gold trees

Final product – time to dry!

My second design is a reindeer. He was a bit trickier because he’s more detailed, but I’m really pleased with the way he came out. I am going to write “Merry Christmas” in the bottom left-hand corner of the cards, but I have to wait for them to dry first.

Started with a drawing, copied it and colored with black marker, transferred to a lino block with transfer paper

Starting to carve

Test prints

While waiting for the green trees to dry, I printed the reindeer cards

Final product – just to have write “Merry Christmas”!

I love how each print is different than the previous one and that there are imperfections, like the texture of the paper showing through the ink, because it shows that an actual person made the cards, not a machine. Because of these slight imperfections, no two prints will ever be exactly the same, which means that each card will be entirely unique!

I’m really excited to continue printing by hand. I love everything about the process of block printing, from the planning, drawing and carving to the actual stamping. And what’s great about these rubber stamps is that I can use them over and over again to print on cards, gift tags, or even my own wrapping paper! The possibilities are endless and I will continue to share my creations with you!

Stay Curious! xo…Alane

4 thoughts on “Hand Printed Christmas Cards

  1. Pingback: Hand Printed Christmas Cards, Pt. 2 | A Curiously Chic Life

  2. Pingback: Hand Printed Wrapping Paper, Pt. 2 | A Curiously Chic Life

Leave a Reply

