Thanksgiving Traditions

Happy day-after-Thanksgiving! I hope everyone had a lovely holiday and was able to spend time with family and friends. We spent the day at my aunt and uncle’s house, indulging in non-stop eating and drinking. Needless to say, I was in a food coma halfway through the evening and am not even hungry this morning. My aunt cooked a beautiful 18-pound turkey for 16 people and it was absolutely delicious! My favorite part of the meal, however, is always the stuffing – maybe because of all the bread that’s in it. I can’t forget dessert, though! We had the traditional apple and pumpkin pies, but being the Italians that we are, we also had a huge tray filled with sweet Italian pastries from Brooklyn and my family’s favorite after dinner drinks – Sambuca, Grappa, and Disarrono. We came home completely stuffed and I went straight to sleep. Oh, and did I mention I won the pool for the second football game?! Yay for dumb luck!

Two of my favorite Thanksgiving traditions, however, have nothing to do with food. The first one we do between dinner and dessert. A few Thanksgiving’s ago, my aunt brought out this game called Table Topics, and we’ve played it every year since. You have a stack of cards with questions on them and pass them around the table. The person asking the question has to pick the person they want to answer the question. Some examples of questions: “If you had one million dollars, which charity would you donate it to?” “If you could own any business, what would it be?” “What life experience has made you the strongest?” I love this tradition because it is a great way to get to know your family and friends better.

My second favorite tradition is one that we do every holiday after dinner and dessert and, of course, a few drinks. We play a card game called Screw your Neighbor. Everyone starts with $3.00 and if you lose a round, you have to put a dollar in the pot. When you run out of dollars, you’re out of the game. The object of the game is to try to have a higher card because the person with the lowest card has to pay. So if you have a low card, you can pass it to your neighbor and hope that they have a higher card…basically you screw your neighbor. It’s a really fun game and if you win the jackpot, then it’s even more fun!

How did you spend your Thanksgiving this year and what are some of your favorite Thanksgiving traditions?

I hope everyone has a safe Black Friday! Happy Thanksgiving! xo…Alane

Leave a Reply

