Weekend Recap: Monday Funday!

I love having Mondays off. It always used to be my least favorite day of the week, but now I love it! It is my day to get things done – run errands, do artwork, clean my room – and I can do it all on my own because everyone else is at work. Lucky for me, my best friend has Mondays off too so Mondays are our fun days – we do some Target & Express shopping, make some crafts, bake in the winter and hit the shore in the summer. Yesterday, we decided to shake things up a bit and took a trip to Old York Cellars in Ringoes, NJ. My friend had a living social voucher for wine and chocolate tasting for two, so we packed a picnic lunch and hit the road!

The winemaker and his wife spent a lot of time with us explaining all the different wines and how he makes them. We tried their Chardonnay, Vidal Blanc, Pinot Gris, Malbec, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Sweet Riesling, Blackberry dessert wine, Ravat 51, and White Port. Out of the whites, my favorite was the Vidal Blanc because it wasn’t too sweet and had a slight lemon flavor. This is the bottle we bought to drink with our veggie sandwiches that we packed for lunch. They had an outdoor patio area and the weather yesterday afternoon was a perfect 68 degrees.

I also went home with a bottle of the Merlot and the Cabernet Sauvignon. The Merlot tasted amazing with the Medium Dark Chocolate so of course, I bought a box of that as well. The Sweet Riesling was very light and summery and would be delicious on a summer evening sitting on the deck. I also really enjoyed the White Port, which is made from their Riesling. I’ve never had white port so it was interesting to try. I actually like it better than red port because it seems to be lighter and not quite as sweet. If you ever have time, I definitely suggest taking a trip there and trying their wines. The grounds are beautiful and the wines are delicious! We would like to go back in the spring or summer when the vineyard is in bloom!

I hope you all had a great weeked!

Stay Curious! xo…Alane

(All photographs are taken by me, Alane Gianetti)

One thought on “Weekend Recap: Monday Funday!

Leave a Reply

